2015 Honda Fit

Standard

FitPromo

Bias = I traded in my 2014 Mazda3 for a 2015 Honda Fit LX due to blind spots in the Mazda3; you can read more in my review about the Mazda3. The only car I have driven for any length of time was a 1992 Honda Accord.

The Awesome
Visibility = This is the main reason I switched from the Mazda3 to the Fit. All cars have blind spots, and an increasing number have forward blind spots. The Fit still has forward blind spots, but they hide objects 1-2 car lengths further away than the Mazda’s did, meaning they do not pose the same hazard in intersections that the Mazda’s did.

Cargo Room = This is a small car with an impressive amount of cargo room. The back seats fold flat, and the front passenger can fold too, so you can haul a lot of stuff if need be.  I’ve hauled a coworker and their bicycle, something I couldn’t have done without a lot of planning and effort in my Accord or Mazda3.  I’ve also used the back of my Fit as a portable study room during finals week at college.

FitPics

 

The Good
MPG = I average about 35 mpg on a commute that is roughly 60% city and 40% highway driving.

Headroom = I like to sit upright and close to the wheel. Unlike in the Mazda, my head does not brush the roof in my Fit. However, this is only applicable in the LX; the EX version loses an inch of headroom due to the moonroof.

Headrests = A lot of people complain about the headrests in the Fit, but they must not have driven a new Mazda3. The headrests in the Fit are a significant improvement over the Mazda3’s, which shoved my head forward at a very uncomfortable angle.

Door Opening = The doors on the Fit open wide, opening to an almost 90-degree angle with the car. Most car doors do not open this wide.

The Bad
Road Noise = This car is fairly noisy on the road/interstate. This doesn’t bother me, but I can see how it would be a drawback for some.  On interstates passengers in the back will have to speak up to be heard in the front, at least in the LX Fit.

Rough Ride = Similar to the road noise issue, the Fit is pretty rough riding for a modern car.  Again, not an issue that really bothers me, but it does make it impossible to ignore the deplorable condition of New Orleans’ streets.

Interior = I’ve seen worse, but the interior is cheaper than the Mazda3’s. There are more hard-touch plastics, the arm rests in the door have no cushioning, and the seats seem a little less padded. There’s also no armrest on the right side of the driver’s seat.  All things I don’t really care about, but worth mentioning.

Storage Stash = Different from cargo room, these are the hidey-holes where you put things you keep in the car: GPS, MP3 player, air gauge, emergency tools, etc. There is a small-ish glove compartment, a little hidey-hole in the center “armrest,” and a pocket on the back of the front passenger seat, but that’s really about it; not a lot of places to stash stuff.

The Ugly
Pedals/Driver Foot Room = After driving this car some, I’ve found that my ankles hurt.  My 35-40 mile commute is enough to do it, especially with the frequent stop-and-go rush hour traffic.  I didn’t experience this in my old Accord or Mazda3, so I want to blame the Fit.  I’ve experimented with a number of different chair positions, and while I’ve lessened the problem, I’ve yet to complete resolve it.  Also, while I wouldn’t call the foot area cramped, I can’t stretch out my legs, and I’m only 5’5″ or 5’6″ tall.

Verdict = The Fit is a Honda’s smallest, cheapest car currently available in the U.S. For those with more expensive tastes or accustomed to more upscale cars, the Fit might not be a good fit. For those specifically shopping the cheaper end of the car market though, the Fit is a solid contender and definitely worth a look.

2 thoughts on “2015 Honda Fit

Leave a comment